Historical Attractions

Saint Andrews is rich in native, loyalist, and immigrant history which is displayed and interpreted at several locations throughout the community, some of which are mentioned below. The main town plat of Saint Andrews has been designated a National Historic District and many of the more than 250 homes have been marked with descriptive plaques by the St. Andrews Civic Trust.

Ross Memorial Museum

Henry Phipps and Sarah Juliette Ross were world travellers, avid collectors of art and antiques and generous philanthropists. In 1938 they purchased beautiful Chestnut Hall (c.1824) specifically as a museum for their collection. Fine furniture by 19th Century New Brunswick cabinet makers, exceptional oriental carpets, paintings and objects d'art all reflect the interests of this fascinating couple. A special summer exhibit changes annually. Admission is by donation. Open mid June to mid October. For more information call 506-520-5124.
or visit:  http://www.rossmemorialmuseum.ca/

"Another legacy of the Ross family which adds to the educational and cultural vibrancy of Saint Andrews is the Ross Memorial Library http://www.rossmemlibrary.org  Part of the New Brunswick Public Library Service since 1981, the Ross Memorial Library offers an array of services,including: programs for both children and adults, collections in both physical and digital formats, reference services for genealogical and other pursuits and access to the Internet via both desktop computer and WiFi connection."

Blockhouse

The Blockhouse in Saint Andrews is the sole survivor of twelve such structures which were erected as coastal defences during the War of 1812 - 14 between Britain and the United States. It is one of Canada's 70 major National Historic Sites. Partially destroyed by fire in 1993, it has been carefully restored and looks much the same as it did in the early 19th century. Interpretive displays explain the role and construction of the Blockhouse and guides are on hand daily throughout the tourist season for further assistance.

Sheriff Andrews House

Sheriff Andrews House is a beautiful example of neo-classical architecture built in 1820. Now a public museum, the house consists of finely detailed rooms displaying period furniture drawn from the provincial collection. This Provincial Historic Site is open daily (in season) to the public and costumed guides provide tours and interpret early 19th century open hearth cooking techniques.

Ministers Island

Ministers Island is a short drive across the ocean floor (at low tide) from Saint Andrews and was purchased by Canada's visionary railway builder Sir William Van Horne in 1890. Wealthy after constructing a railway from sea to sea, Van Horne not only built the barn and his 50-room home, but greenhouses, a windmill, and tennis courts as well. Today, Ministers Island is a protected Provincial Historic Site and visitors can enjoy guided tours during the season.

St. Croix Island

The first Europeans to settle in the area were a company of French explorers led by Samuel de Champlain and Sieur de Monts in 1604. They attempted to set up a permanent community on St. Croix Island, four miles from the mouth of the St. Croix River. After just one winter, which was admittedly unusually severe, the attempt to settle was a dismal failure. Nearly half of the men died of scurvy and exposure. They dismantled their buildings and sailed to a more hospitable location across the Bay of Fundy, where they founded Port Royal, now known as Annapolis Royal. St. Croix Island is an International Historic Site and had interpretive and viewing parks on both sides of the St. Croix River.

Charlotte County Courthouse & Gaol

 

The Charlotte County Archives operates out of the historic Goal, located next door to the Charlotte County Court House in Saint Andrews. The April Sessions Record of Charlotte County 1832 recorded the plan to build a new "gaol".  It was ordered "that it is expedient to build a new gaol, and that a committee, consisting of Colin Campbell, Thomas Wyer, Jr., and Peter Stubs Esquires, be appointed to find an airy and eligible situation for the site of the said gaol, as well as, to suggest the ways and means to carry  the same into execution." Since opening its doors to the first "visitors,"  countless people have passed through the heavy front door. They came at first as directed by the courts,  for indebtedness, murder, mischief, and sundry crimes; Now,  they come to learn about our past,  to search for family connections: researching marriage, cemetery records,  and to make history come alive.

All of these activities are guided by a team of dedicated volunteers who are happy to share their energy and enthusiasm. We are thankful to the Province of New Brunswick which provides us with the space and maintenance support, as well as summer grants which are utilized to hire summer students.

Donations may be made via our website www.ccarchives.ca or to mail 123 Frederick Street, Saint Andrews, NB E5B 1Z1.

Please know that your donation to the Charlotte County Archives, will be used to preserve our unique heritage for the enjoyment of present and future generations.